What’s in my lunch Mom and Dad?

Do you hear this question every school day? I know I do and am often talking with other parents about lunch ideas. Given that this is my daughter’s first week of school I thought this post was relevant. 🙂  I try to follow a formula each day; 1 fruit, 1 vegetable, 1 dairy and 1 main item.

Tell me… what do your kids like?

  • Fruit: I try to stick with organic fruit and veggies that are fresh, in season, easy to pack and won’t turn by lunch time – bananas, apples, pears, blue berries, strawberries, grapes, applesauce (no sugar added please!).
  • Vegetable: carrot sticks, grape/cherry tomatoes, celery sticks, pea pods with  humus or ranch dip
  • Dairy: frozen yogurt cups or tubes, cheese sticks, milk (I think the Horizon Organic Milk boxes are great!)
  • Main entrée: mini whole wheat bagels with cream cheese, chicken breast cubed with crackers and cheese, tuna or turkey wraps, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, banana or zucchini bread, cold pasta salad, spaghetti and meatballs, or “granola bars” like  Larabars and Clif Kid Organic ZBars
Leave a Reply

