Paleo Spice Latte

Today is day 2 of my Whole 30 adventure and I just am not ready for black coffee. I never have been and trust me I have tried, I spent 3 years working in the training department for Starbucks and at every training class, meeting and roasting event I did my part a swigged a big mouthful of the company Kool-Aid searching for that one flavor profile that would just hit home with me but alas… I always struggled through. So today, I came up with this Paleo Spice Latte and love it! I hope you do too!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup full fat coconut milk (from the can)
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 16 oz brewed coffee

Directions:

  1. Brew a pot of your favorite coffee
  2. In a small saucepan warm the coconut milk, vanilla and spices
  3. Using an immersion blender, blend the coconut milk mixture until frothy
  4. Pour the coconut milk into a large mug and top with coffee
  5. Enjoy!
8 thoughts on “Paleo Spice Latte

  1. I LOVE this idea. When checking the ingredients on the can of coconut, does it have any other ingredients? Some have a chemical that is actually used to clean floors with, as it ‘sterilizes’ the can before food is put in it. what kind of full fat coconut milk do you use? I know, crazy but when death has knocked, crazy makes a difference. ;0) Thanks girl~Brianna

    • So glad you like, I hope you try it! I am totally hooked. This morning I just whisked it a small sauce pot and put it on top of my coffee – cappuccino! Good question about the ingredients, right now I have Ty Ling brand in my pantry and it only has 2 ingredients, coconut milk and potassium. I always look for as few ingredients as possible, and now I will be extra cautious as I had no idea that some included such nasty chemicals! Thanks for the info!

      Marna

      • I get it at QFC, I also just got back from PCC and picked up cans of Thai Kitchen and Native Forest, both have the same ingredients -Organic coconut milk, water and guar gum. I am trying to test as many brands as I can to find the one I like best, not all taste the same.

  2. Im with ya drinking it black. After 7 years at the buck, it didn’t happen very often. Just tried making this & I was pleasantly surprised! (A friend of mine came over this week explaining WHY paleo is so amazing for her along with countless health benefits. Im slowly trying….

  3. From what I know about the changes you have made to your diet and lifestyle you are probably closer than you think! If you don’t want to do it all at once, try omitting one or two things at a time, like legumes and dairy or grains. Once you start feeling the benefits it will be hard to go back and you will want to add the other items to your omit list just to see how great you feel! Cutting out the sugar was a huge eye opener for me, no more pimples (and everytime I cheat and have sugar.. guess what I get in a day or two – yup, a nasty pimple!).

  4. Ya cheese has been hard for me…milk no problem, plain Greek yogurt I was consuming for the protein but now working hard on these two areas. Grains & legumes, I’m just now coming around to understanding the “why” I should leave them behind too. I’m floored really that these “why’s” are so hidden in our society. Have your kids adapted well? Any major changes in them? My husband & 6yr old
    son have the coveted metabolism where they both loose weight & are naturally skinny.
    So with all of these changes I have made, it doesn’t always work for their metabolism.

    are

  5. Yes, I was surprised too that so much of this information is hidden but you have to consider that the government subsidizes a lot of the corn and grain production… and well you know how it goes from there..

    ahhh.. the kids… they are not paleo. They eat a lot better than they did a year ago, more veggies, more protein sources but they still eat organic dairy and some grains. I have greatly reduced their sugar intake, moved them to 90% organic everything and reduced their grain consumption but we aren’t there yet. The older they get (They are 3 and 5.5 years old now) the easier it gets but like you I am always struggling to get them to gain weight (they burn calories sitting still!) It’s a work in progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

