Homemade Paleo Mayo

I really think this recipe should be titled, “If I Can Do It You Can Too Mayo” or “Why I Love My Immersion Blender Mayo”.  This is not an original recipe and there are tons out there, this is more of a testimony to the simplicity of this recipe once you give it a try. I had been avoiding making my own mayo for a variety of reasons:

  1. I don’t use mayo that often anyway and would reserve it’s use for “cheat” recipes
  2. I had read a dozen or so recipes that call for hand whisking (blech) or using a blender that noted both methods take forever but are worth it! (not to me)

It all changed when I started my Whole30 challenge and a few days later got a recipe for Faux-potato salad made with cauliflower and bacon (see the full recipe here) and MAYO.  I really, really, really wanted to try that recipe but I wasn’t willing to cheat on my Whole30 challenge, heck I had already held strong through a few really tough social events that included catered meals, alcohol and a weekend out on our boat with family that was filled with temptation.  I tried a method using my blender and it just didn’t work (I don’t think I waited long enough), I kept searching and came across this recipe using an immersion blender, it worked like a dream and in seconds I had mayo! Since I was making  Charlie’s Fauxtato salad I substituted olive oil for bacon fat and left out the mustard. I will definitely make this again.

Paleo Mayo

Tools

  • Immersion Blender
  • Tall canister with lid (my blender came with this but you could use a mason jar)

Ingredients

  • 2 pasteurized large eggs or 1 extra-large egg
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup liquid bacon fat

Directions

  1. Pasteurize your eggs (how and why)
  2. Put the egg yolk and whites and lemon juice into your container
  3. Add the bacon fat
  4. Let the oil rest until it has settled above the eggs (about 30 seconds) this is an important step because if the oil is combined with the egg and lemon juice too quickly it won’t emulsify and your time and effort will have been wasted
  5. Put your immersion blender into your container and let it sit on the bottom and begin blending, as the egg and oil begin to emulsify it will start to thicken as it becomes mayo. Then you can starts to pull your immersion blender up to incorporate more oil into the egg mixture.
  6. If you use olive oil, you can also add in different herbs, spices, salt, mustard, etc to change the flavor to better suite your recipe.

Ingredient Variations/Additions to try

  • 1 teaspoon of both Parsley and tarragon
  • 1 tablespoon Curry powder
  • Try different mustard like Dijon or spicy brown
  • Sriracha sauce
One thought on “Homemade Paleo Mayo

  1. Pingback: Charlie’s Fauxtato Salad « Living Carroll

Leave a Reply

