My Fall and Winter Veggie Blues

I have been in a food rut and as a result I have not posted any new meal plans or recipes in (gulp) WEEKS! The truth is I am not a big fan of fall and winter veggies and neither is my family. Last week, in a desperate attempt to do something with green chard I sauteed it with a little garlic and red pepper and added it to our dinner plates. My husband quickly asked, “WHAT is THIS?” I replied, “It’s chard, think of it as spinach’s cousin.”  He promptly said, “Tell this cousin to take a hike.” and I agreed, it was not my favorite side dish. I have a permanent beet exemption on my local CSA order and parsnips, turnips and rutabegas aren’t exactly inspiring either.

Which leaves me with some good standbys that are also available year round; broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, sweet potatoes, onions and winter squash but remember my first sentence? I have been in a rut and nothing creative or inspiring has come out of my kitchen that has been “blog worthy” and somehow life feels a lot busier lately so my time to tinker in the kitchen has dwindled and I have been putting out fast easy meals consisting of roasted chicken/pork/beef/fish and simple steamed or sauteed veggie sides.

Then today while reading 100 Days of Real Food I stumbled upon The Fresh 20 a meal planning service that provides grocery lists, menus and recipes. They focus on keeping ingredients simple, local and in season and each week there are 20 ingredients that are repurposed through out the week. They even have a gluten-free option! You are probably thinking, isn’t that similar to what you are trying to do?  Well, yes but I need a little help this time of year and after perusing their site I decided a 3-month subscription might just be the inspiration I needed to get me out of my rut. I should get my first meal plan soon and will let you know how it goes. If you are interested check out this link for a discount  HAPPY HOLIDAYS — The Fresh 20.

2 thoughts on “My Fall and Winter Veggie Blues

  1. My hubby found the comment about the beets pretty funny. He also has the same feeling about cooked greens. I researched some recipes for stuffing pumpkins or squash that make for a good way to use/hide those greens and you could make as just the filling. Basic filling recipe includes sausage meat, cheese (if you want, I did goat cheese), mushrooms, garlic, chives, onion, salt, pepper, paparika, cinnamon and ginger (if you are going for the seasonal taste), and 2 cups cut up greens such as kale, chard, mustard, or a mix.

    • Beth, thanks for the comment and I am glad your husband can relate! Your filling ideas sounds really good. I will have to play with that. I definitely like that kind of dish. I made a paleo stuffing for Thanksgiving and ended up eating it for breakfast with some sweet potato and poached eggs – yum! Skillet type meals are my thing right now, warm, comforting and full of flavor.

Leave a Reply

