Paleo Granola Cereal

As a kid I thought I could live on cereal. Crunchy, sweet, chewy and delicious, the cold milk brought everything together. Since adopting a Paleo lifestyle I haven’t missed many things, but some mornings would be so much easier if I could just have a quick bowl of cereal. A few weeks ago I came across a granola recipe and finally decided to make my own, so I started searching for and reading as many recipes as I could until I just decided to make up my own. And it was so so so so good. I splashed some cold almond milk on top and for just a few minutes I swear I was a kid again.

Paleo Granola

Paleo Granola

Ingredients:
1 cup raw almonds
1 cup walnuts
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup raw sprouted sunflower seeds
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup flaxseed
12 Medjool dates, pitted and chopped
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions:

  1. Roughly chop the almonds and walnuts into small pieces. I have a small food processor and I tried chopping the nuts in the processor but I didn’t get a consistent size and had too many large pieces and too many extra small pieces. I think a larger, more powerful processor would probably do a good job.
  2. Add all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and using your hands mix everything together. Be sure to break up the sticky dates so they don’t clump into larger pieces and get evenly mixed in with the spices and nuts.
  3. Enjoy with your favorite type of milk.
  4. Store in a glass airtight container.
11 thoughts on “Paleo Granola Cereal

    • I am so glad you all are interested in this recipe, it is so simple and tasty! It can easily be modified too, I was thinking of trying it with some pumpkin or apple pie spice, dehydrated apple or strawberry bits, pumpkin seeds… I could go on and on! Let me know what you try!

      • I made it and loved it! I didn’t use raisins since I don’t like them and added fresh blueberries. Just like a bowl of serious but yummier and more filling!

Leave a Reply

