Roasted Kabocha Squash

If you follow my blog or have browsed any of my recipes you can probably tell that I really like (scratch that) love squash. Which I think is weird because as a kid I thought squash was GROSS, when it was prepared for me it had a slimy texture, bland taste and just didn’t jive for me. Are you with me?
I do not discriminate and will often find butternut, spaghetti and acorn squash in my shopping cart! This fall I started experimenting with varieties I had not tried before; I quickly fell in love with Delicata (which you may remember from this post) and now have a new appreciation for Kabocha. A Kabocha squash looks like a green pumpkin with warts, so no, it is not very inviting but it does have a beautiful orange flesh that is full of beta carotene, iron, potassium and vitamin C.

kabocha
You probably know that squash is a pain to open and Kabocha is no different. I used a very big and sharp kitchen knife and sliced (or better yet, hacked) the top off, just like you would do if you were carving a Jack-o-lantern. I scooped out the seeds and proceeded to quarter the squash and finally I cut it into slices.
There are so many recipes out there for squash and Kabocha; from purees, soups, in salads, as a baking ingredient for pancakes, muffins, and more. I decided to simply roast mine and the result was rich and flavorful; the squash had a very velvety, fluffy texture and practically mashed itself. It would be a great squash to use in a mashed recipe or as a soup base and I can definitely see the appeal in using it in baked goods. I read that you can eat the skin but I didn’t particularly care for it, it was a little too chewy for me.

Sliced Kabocha
Tools

  • A large, sharp kitchen knife
  • Roasting or baking sheet
  • Silpat mat or aluminum foil

Ingredients

  • 1 Kabocha squash
  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425
  2. Prepare the Kabocha; cut off the top, remove the seeds, quarter and slice
  3. Toss in a large mixing bowl with the coconut oil
  4. Scatter on the baking sheet; try to avoid overlapping pieces as much as possible
  5. Sprinkle with salt and pepper
  6. Roast for 15 minutes, flip and roast 15 more minutes
  7. Squash is done with it is tender when poked with a fork
Leave a Reply

