I. Love. Summer.

I don’t know about you but summer is my favorite season, but it is also the hardest season for me to eat right. Here in the Seattle area we know that our summer usually starts on the 5th of July and runs into September. This gives us 8 glorious weeks to pack all of our summer festivals, camping trips, boating weekends, waterfall hikes, outdoor concerts, farmer’s markets and any other outdoor activity we can think of. This also means that we are away from home for meals more often, food temptations are everywhere and I am not a perfect person! (Nor should I be.)

My hubby and brother teaching the kids how to fish.

My hubby and brother teaching the kids how to fish.

I was lucky enough to have a great conversation last night with some friends who are also Paleo, and came to the conclusion that it is ok not to eat perfectly ALL of the time. I found some peace in knowing that when I do go “off-road” I am doing so with the knowledge of how it will affect me. For example, last week it was 103 degrees at my dad’s house – what goes with 103 degree weather? Cold beer, freshly made from the local brewery. I had a bit of inner struggle, I know that gluten is not my friend but decided to drink a few any way and they were great. Could I have been just as happy and refreshed with an iced tea? Probably but I had the beer anyway and I enjoyed it. So why am I telling you all of this? Because we are all going to be faced with these choices for the rest of our life but our power comes from knowing that we are making the decision (good or bad) with the knowledge of how it will affect us and we can base our decisions on that knowledge. I don’t know about you but I think having that kind of control and will power is pretty cool.

So if I have an “off-road” meal or treat every now and then this summer, I am okay with that. I hope you are too, don’t be expecting any off-road recipes from me though! Here is a super simple breakfast that can be prepared in under 10 minutes.

nom!

nom!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Rainbow chard (kale, spinach, or any other dark leafy green vegetable) roughly chopped
  • ½ red Bell Pepper, roughly diced
  • ¼ cooked sweet potato, roughly diced
  • 1 cooked chicken sausage, sliced (or ground beef or pork or diced chicken would work well here too)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1-2 teaspoons (based on your taste) Tsar Dust memories seasoning from Penzey’s. If you don’t have that cinnamon and nutmeg will work too.
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a medium skillet over medium heat
  2. Add the chard, bell pepper, sweet potato, chicken sausage, sprinkle on the seasoning and let cook for about 3 minutes, stir and cook 2 more minutes
  3. Plate and enjoy!

Need it to be more breakfast-y? After plating your meat and veggies, fry an egg and throw that on top of all of it and nom-nom-nom away!

Leave a Reply

